“I Won’t Give Up”

I won’t give up on us/ Even if the skies get rough/ I’m given you all my love/ I’m still looking up.

When you’re younger, you never realize how black and white your view of the world is. There’s heros and there’s villains, there’s happy and sad, there’s the person you love and then there’s everyone else. No one tells you that when you meet the love of your life how you will know it, and even when you do, how you may doubt it. No one tells you that you can love someone so much that you would do anything to protect them, then suddenly become the person to hate, pity, dismiss, and disrespect them. No one tells you that they have the power to hurt you more than anyone in the world.

Fairy tales make you believe in Happy-ever-after.  But once the story ends, and the honeymoon is over, every day becomes a choice. a choice to stay faithful, a choice to be honest, a choice to stay or leave, a choice to stay patient.

We have faced so many choices and some have left us in absolute bliss while others have left us utterly heartbroken. Some have pushed us to the edge and have altered the way we see each other. What I learned is that no choice is necessarily right or wrong. They are just actions and consequences that we endure, and that shape who we turn out to be.

In the end, I think the only choice that matters is the one you make when you wake up and the one  you make before you go to sleep. I won’t give up on us. And he does the same for me. So today that is the only choice. I won’t give up.

Leave a comment