#EffYourBeautyStandards: Aussie Edition

This week I am sure many of you came across the Instagram post that commented on Tess Holliday. I was very much angered by the context of the message and had commented on the picture. I  posed a logical, respecful counter argument- which is hard because I’m known for swearing, name calling, and sarcasm to even those I love most. But, to be taken seriously, I wanted my comment to come from a place of logic and respect. Funny enough it was immediately deleted while other comments, much more mean-spirited, remained on the page. I did learn a valuable lesson in taking screen shots of my comments for future reference.

Is it just me, or does that seem a little funny? Perhaps my comment actually made sense and they couldn’t have that?  I spent the past few days unable to stop thinking about this whole controversy and had originally drafted a post that could have easily turned into a book. But I have decided to address this issue at my own time and pace and not in response to some ignorant comments by some person I have never even heard of until this week. But I just want to put some positivity out there for now.

Do not acknolwedge people like the ones who made those comments. Instead let us continue to educate ourselves and support beautiful, smart, and compassionate women like Tess Holliday. She is a role model not because of what she looks like (even though in my and Boo’s eyes, she is drop dead gorgeous), but because of what she stands for. Let’s continue to make strides to being the healthiest version of oursevles while still loving who we are today.  Let’s support each other, because we can all improve, but negativity is just a really fucked up way to get there.

e92d190db9a0243820a7a24d7f91cba6

Also I totally geeked out when I got a like from the lovely model herself today!

jjj

Leave a Reply

